Well, late Saturday afternoon I got a SMS on my mobile phone. The SMS sent by TM – Winners, read like this…

Congratulation!!! You have won GBP-250,000.00, in 2009 (SHELL) INT’L Mobile Draw. Winning #3, To claim your prize Contact Mr. Mike via E-mail: spdc68@live.com

I was thinking for a minute. It sounded crazy. Shell was legitimate company. How did they get my number and why were they using live.com as their contact. Well something dint sound right. I knew it was some kind of spam. But am I the only one ?

Well coincidently, a local newspaper also wrote a similar story of a person in Bangalore, receiving similar message. As I read through the post, my initial thoughts were sealed. Yes, it was a spam message.

This kinda spam is described as mobile spamming, SMS spam, text spam, or SpaSMS also called commonly as m-spam. This is not something new, as I thought earlier, it started with the increase in popularity of mobile phones.

Some handy SMS spam-reduction techniques:

  • Don’t give your cell phone numbers to unknown websites
  • Don’t give number to Internet sites offering “free” ring tone downloads
  • If you are using a Symbian OS, then there are software that can use some keyword/phone number filtering system to deliver only relevant messages
  • If you don’t want to utilize the SMS service then you can call up your mobile service provider and stop the service.

Some telecommunications providers believe that SMS spam is going to be a huge challenge for them, since spamsters are using different means to send SMS spams.

